Useful Contacts

Access Travel: http://www.access-travel.co.uk/ - Holiday accommodation that is fully accessible

The Barbara Bus Fund: www.barbarabus.com - Short-term hire of specially adapted vehicles

 

Calvert Trust: http://www.calvert-trust.org.uk/ - Outdoor activity breaks for people with disabilities and their families and friends

 

Canal Holiday 2014: http://www.vasd.org.uk/holidays/canal-boat-holidays/

Sea Lion Swimming Club Watford: www.sealionswimmingclub.org.uk 
Open to anyone with a permanent or temporary disability. Family members are welcome to join in the swimming sessions.

Carers In Hertfordshire: http://www.carersinherts.org.uk/ - Guidance and advice for families with disabled children

 

Children’s Centres:

 

The Children’s Centre Checker: www.hertsdirect.org/actweb/postcode/postcodecc.cfm - Help to find your local Children’s Centre

 

Beachfields Children's centre, http://www.ymcawatford.org/beechfield

 

Berkhamsted Children's Centre  www.berkhamstedchildrenscentre.org/contact/

 

Berrygrove Children’s Centre: http://www.hertschildrenscentres.org.uk/berrygrove/

 

Croxley Green Children’s Centre: http://www.hertschildrenscentres.org.uk/croxleygreen/

 

Galley Hill Children’s Centre: http://www.hertschildrenscentres.org.uk/galleyhill/

 

Green Lane Children’s Centre: http://www.hertschildrenscentres.org.uk/greenlane/

 

Heath Lane Children’s Centre: www.hertschildrenscentres.org.uk/heathlane/

 

Leavesden Children’s Centre: http://www.hertschildrenscentres.org.uk/leavesden/

 

Littlebury Children's centre http://www.ymcawatford.org/littlebury

 

Redbourn and Villages Children’s Centre: http://www.hertschildrenscentres.org.uk/redbourn/

 

Sopwell & Verulam Children’s Centre: http://www.hertschildrenscentres.org.uk/sopwellverulam/

 

Sunshine Children’s Centre: www.sunshinecc.org

 

Three Villages Children’s Centre: http://www.hertschildrenscentres.org.uk/threevillages/

 

Windmill Children’s Centre: http://www.hertschildrenscentres.org.uk/windmill/

 

WorldShapers Children's Centre: www.worldshapers.org.uk - WorldShapers Children’s Centre Grovehill and Woodhall Farm in Hemel Hempstead

 

Hemel Hempstead East is the network established in April 2015, following the restructure of Children’s Centres in Dacorum. Our centres and activity sessions are located in the community to serve families in Adeyfield, Highfield, St Pauls, Woodhall Farm, Grove Hill, Bennetts End and Leverstock Green.

Windmill:- Broadfield Road, Adeyfield, HP2 4BX – 01442 426303

Green Lane:- Leverstock Green School, Green Lane, HP2 4SA -01442 265410

Cedar Tree:- Woodhall Farm Community Centre, Datchet Close, HP2 7JX – 01442 256144

We have a timetable full of activities for 0-5’s across various locations, and offer a number of courses specifically for families requiring support or information to enhance their skills.

http://www.broadfieldprimary.herts.sch.uk/childrens-centres

***

Chiltern Music Therapy: www.chilternmusictherapy.org - Offers a music therapy service for children and young people that includes assessments for diagnosis and treatment programmes.

Colne Valley Special Sailors   cvss@live.com - Sailing for children (aged 4+) with disabilities in highly buoyant sailing boats.

Contact a family: http://www.cafamily.org.uk/ - The only UK-wide charity providing advice, information and support to the parents of all disabled children

Dacorum Borough  Council Travel Vouchers: http://www.dacorum.gov.uk/ - Check for availability of travel vouchers

 

 

DEMAND (Design & Manufacture for Disability) A charity that bespoke, modify and refurbish equipment for people with disabilities when no off the shelf

solution exists  www.demand.org.uk

 

DisabledGo: http://www.disabledgo.com/ - Detailed information about access to all kinds of places

Early Support Website general: http://www.ncb.org.uk/early-support/

Early Support resources page: http://www.ncb.org.uk/early-support/resources

Family Information Service: http://www.hertsdirect.org/your-community/fsd/fis/ - The FIS provides free, friendly impartial information/guidance on full range of children's services and resources across Hertfordshire. FIS aims to offer you the most up-to-date info available in your area for children & young people aged 0-19yrs (0-25 with special needs or disability)

 

Fish Insurance: www.fishinsurance.co.uk - Recommended by some Playskill users

 

Gaddesden Place Riding and Driving for the Disabled: http://www.gaddesdenplacerda.org.uk/ - Providing riding facilities and instruction for people with disabilities

 

Hertfordshire Additional Needs Database (HAND): hand@hertscc.gov.uk - Register of children and young people with an additional need or disability, aged between 0 and 19 years of age

 

Hit Inclusive Theatre Co: www.hitproject.co.uk - Theatre group for children with additional needs

 

Kids Hub: www.kids.org.uk/hub - Provides information and support to parents/carers of disabled children in Hertfordshire. 

 

Homestart: http://www.home-startwatford.org.uk/ - Support and friendship for families with a child under 5 years

 

Leavesden Toy Library: http://www.hertschildrenscentres.org.uk/leavesden/ - A large variety of toys for babies & children from 0-5 years can be borrowed here

 

Mencap: www.watfordmencap.org.uk/ - Supporting adults and children. Watford Mencap have an advocacy service - for more information: http://www.watfordmencap.org.uk/professionals/advocacy/

 

Mobility Road Show: http://www.mobilityroadshow.co.uk/ - A road show that offers you the chance to try before you buy

 

Naidex: http://www.naidex.co.uk/ - Disability equipment exhibition

 

Parent Partnership: www.hertsdirect.org/parentpartnership - Impartial information and guidance on special educational needs to parents, carers and professionals

 

Salmon Disabled Swimming Club: http://www.salmon-club.org.uk/ - Swimming group for people of every age with disabilities. Access to both baby and big pool. You can take other siblings, regardless of disability status, along as associate members. Every Saturday 10:30-11:45 at Westminster lodge – St Albans. Free (£5 per year membership)

 

SEND Directory including local and national services: http://www.inspireanddo.org/category/sen-directory

Scope: http://www.scope.org.uk/sites/default/files/pdfs/Early_years/Scope_Parents_CP_guide.pdf - Specifically a parent's guide to cerebral palsy for early years children

Sky Badger: http://www.skybadger.co.uk/ - Finding help for disabled children and their families

SNAP Special Needs Activities and Play: www.snapherts.org.uk - Holiday play scheme for 4-19 year olds who have a learning disability

 

Softplay: www.softbrick.co.uk and www.softplay2you.co.uk - Softplay equipment and toys including sensory products

 

Up On Downs: www.upondowns.co.uk - Parent-run organisation which supports other parents of someone with Down's Syndrome

 

 

 

Accessibility Options
default styledefault clear styleclear high contrast stylecontrast